And so to the very first post…

Hello everyone

Ok, so basically I’ve decided to share a very personal journey through infertility because I feel strongly that others can learn through my experiences, pick up tips and most of all, be reassured that everything they experience is NORMAL 🙂

So I’ll start off by telling you my basics (as of November 2011);

    • I am 38 years old
    • I have a 15-year-old daughter from my first marriage
    • We’ve been trying to conceive (TTC) for nearly 5 years
    • I have had nearly EVERY test possible
    • Our problem is the quality of my eggs (they are too ‘fragmented’)
    • We’ve had 2 attempts at IVF with my eggs (both failed)
    • We’ve had 1 attempt at IVF with a donated egg (this worked….but then I miscarried at 6 weeks)
    • My husband does not have any children.
    • We are absolutely not rich, just normal hard-workers with a mortgage and a dog

Me 4 years ago, still drinking the vino

    What I will try to achieve through my blog is to tell my story as it could help others to better ‘work the system’, and to know what to expect (my biggest problem was always not knowing what was going to happen, it caused me so much anxiety). I will explain how we started, how we were turned down by the NHS for any financial funding, how we decided on the clinic we used, how I coped (and badly failed at coping) with the IVF process, why and when we told family and friends, how we deal with it as a married couple and of course, how we manage to get up every morning and continue as if everything is fine with the world 🙂

I work in IT so me and Google are like best buddies, which means I have researched fertility to the max on the Internet! This is not always a good thing but I can now distinguish between legitimate advice/facts and the more loony way-out-there rubbish that fills so much of the Net unfortunately. I’ve read books written by others going through IVF, and books promising to get your body ‘pregnant ready’ and I have to say it does all help. Never turn down the chance to better equip yourself with some knowledge, even if after you’ve read it your opinion is ‘well that was a pile of poo!’ Remind yourself that whilst you’re reading or surfing…you’re still heading strongly down your path to a pregnancy…be a determined woman..put some fire in your soul. You’re gonna need to be stronger than you ever thought possible.

I also want to welcome people who simply know someone with fertility issues, because it will help you to understand and maybe support them a bit. It’s far more common than we realise, and chances are you know someone who has either conceived with help, or is about to try.

This post, being the first, is hard for me to write as there is so much I want to say already, but I’m conscious of you dear reader, nodding off. So I will leave each of my blogs with a statement, something that I’ve had to say to myself numerous times to stop from going mad, or just to stop the tears; they are like little snippets of love that hold your hand when you feel most alone.

You are always stronger than you think you are. Especially when children are involved.

Be positive x

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Athena on November 6, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Well done Jodie, brave girl xx

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amber on November 6, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Looking forward to your next post. You were always good at writing and I’m sure your words will help lots of others find their inner strength : )

    Reply

  3. Your bravery is so inspiring. I’m sure many other women will be helped by you sharing what you’ve experienced and learned. I hope your journey has a happy ending xxx

    Reply

  4. I’m excited to hear your story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

