Replacing the TTC obsession with Weight Watchers

The phrase ‘just stop thinking about getting pregnant…and it will happen’ is a much hated phrase amongst those who are struggling to get pregnant. Annoyingly (brilliantly) it seemed to happen to work for me, as when I wasn’t concentrating on TTC (trying to conceive) but instead worrying about my forthcoming knee surgery, when I got pregnant naturally. So in an attempt to ‘stop thinking about it’ I’m trying to switch my focus on to something else: my weight loss.

infertility dietingI’ve joined Weight Watchers. It’s only been 10 days but I’ve lost 2.5 pounds, made new friends and created a new obsession. I know what I’m like and if I have a Project to do, then I obsess over it, it’s how I work best. Plus I’ve already noticed that my motivation for daily life things has changed, for example I don’t eat certain foods because they are good for fertility, I eat them because they are low on Pro Points (the counting method used by WW for those who don’t know, just a different way of looking at calories). I am prioritising my weight loss over my fertility, and I recognise that this is part of a long-term goal of fertility, but the weight loss is coming first at the moment. It occurred to me the other day that this is as good as it gets in regards to ‘stopping thinking about getting pregnant’, as in I actually believe it’s working. I feel less pressured and more relaxed, because I’m basically attempting something that I know I can achieve. It’s not that I can’t ever achieve another pregnancy, but this is a solid positive thing I can do now…and get it right.

Infertility has such a negative affect on a womans soul, it brings such a dark cloud to life and makes seemingly normal day-to-day tasks seem such a struggle. I think what I’m trying to do is break down this huge, massive difficult-to-achieve fertility mission into smaller attainable tasks that I can actually be positive about achieving. Everyday is wonderful in its own way, I have such amazing love from my husband and daughter that I can’t bear the thought of being miserable long-term, what would be the benefit in that?

The phrase ‘look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves’ sums up my theory. Look after yourself, find ways to make yourself healthy and happy, and the bigger picture will slowly work itself out. At least that’s what I believe 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Love this! Good for you. I am going to try to take a page out of your book and do something similar myself. Thanks for this uplifting post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

