Infertility: disease or condition?

Just a quickie post.

I’ve noticed that people are referring to infertility as a ‘disease’, but I don’t think I agree with that. I think it’s a condition.

I think it’s a condition because it’s something we can suffer with, but don’t fully understand yet so therefore can’t label as a disease as such. I certainly don’t feel that I have a disease, just an unfortunate situation.

But what do you all think? Am I not understanding the medical explanation of the two terms disease and condition perhaps? Or maybe it’s just that different countries use words slightly differently? Please reply with your thoughts…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Luisa on April 19, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    Definitely a condition, NOT a disease! I would define a disease as something we ‘catch’ or something that develops within us. Infertility is just how we are made….. but that’s just my opinion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

